Dwanda’s Story








November 2019


Where did you grow up and what did you like about your home town?

I grew up here in Tallahassee. One thing that I like about Tallahassee is that there are many restaurants here that I enjoy. My favorite restaurant is Ms. Dee’s Kitchen in Frenchtown.

Do you have any brothers or sisters?

I have 2 sisters, 2 brothers, one is deceased. My whole family is in Tallahassee, we love to get together for holidays and cook together. I also have 3 sons. They are 22, 21 and a 15-year old. My 15-year old lives with me. One of my sons lives in Tallahassee and the other resides in Alabama.

Do you have any goals you would like to achieve in the short term, long term, or both?

In the short term, I would like to lose some weight because I have gained weight. I want to do this so that I can be around for my son’s for many years to come.

Given a choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest and why?

If I could choose anyone is the world to have as a dinner guest, I would choose my deceased brother. I would like to cook him a soul meal and we would have an in-depth conversation about how life is treating me lately. He was a problem solver and I used to be able to talk to him about anything.

What is your greatest accomplishment in life?

My greatest accomplishment in life is being a mother and grandmother because I have raised two honorable, respectable grown sons that also have children. I have 4 grandchild- ages 3, 2 and (2) one-year olds. And I am currently in the process of raising my 15-year-old, we get along really good together. We enjoy cooking together. He took a cooking class about a month ago so we cook more together now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *