Gilleon and Jacquiline’s Story








October 2019


Where did you grow up and what did you like about your home town?

My sister and I legally entered this country from Jamaica with our mother and three other siblings when we were 10 years old. We really appreciated the multiculturalism of Miami when we first arrived, as it reminded us of Jamaica.

Do you have any brothers or sisters?

My sister and I are identical twins. Being a twin means you always have a best friend, someone who will look out for you when other people won’t, someone who is willing to pay all of our bills for three years when I couldn’t work due to medical issues, and putting her social life on pause to help me.

Do you have any goals you would like to achieve in the short term, long term, or both?

Our biggest goal was to obtain employment and housing. We both have a strong work ethic and want to earn our way, not receive shelter for free.

Given a choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest and why?

If we could have anyone as a dinner guest, it would be our mother. I finally learned how to cook, and that would impress her since she was a chef for 17 years. Her favorite food was curried chicken with white rice, with butter beans on the side. This meal was a family favorite that reminds us of our childhood.

What would constitute a perfect day for you?

A perfect day would be spent with my twin. We would be sitting at the park on a beautiful, sunny day reading the Bible together. My twin and I are the only two Christians in our family, so this is something we always do together.

What is your greatest accomplishment in life?

The greatest accomplishment in our lives is getting baptized together March 6, 2017. We were baptized at a church that we attended off and on for almost 20 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *