Kimberly’s Story








March 2019


Kimberly Wheatly won custody over her 5 year old grandson in July and has recently found stable housing for the two of them. Ms. Wheatly will be able to afford the monthly subsidized rent, however, she is in need of $764 for the security deposit. 

Where did you grow up and what did you like about your hometown?

I grew up here in Tallahassee, FL. I have always lived here. I like that it’s clean compared to other cities because there aren’t a lot of factories and things like that. I also think that the safety level here in Tallahassee is better than a lot of cities

Do you have any brothers and sisters? Tell us a little about them.

I have 3 sisters and two kids. At this time, I also have custody of my five year old grandson. He is my responsibility at this time, which is why I am needing assistance with security deposit.

What is your favorite movie and why?

My favorite movie is “Elf.” I like that movie because it makes me laugh, it’s such a cute movie. Also, Christmas is my favorite holiday and I enjoy watching that movie with my grandson.

What is your favorite genre of music? Which artist?

I like southern rock because I grew up in the south in the 70’s. Some of my favorite artist are Lenard Skinner, Black Foot, ZZ Top and The Almond Brothers.

What is your favorite kind of food?

My favorite food is Chocolate because I love sweets! I am addicted to sweets!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *