Toddira’s Story

Raised

$1000

 

People

4

 

Housed

November 2019

 

Where did you grow up and what did you like about your home town?

I grew up in Monticello, FL. I love the closeness of the town, everyone knew everyone. I lived in Monticello for the first 25 years of my life.

Do you have any brothers or sisters?

I have two brothers that I love dearly. One is in Dallas and the other is in Ft. Peirce. I also have 3 children- One that is 21 and a senior at Florida State University, studying Business. My 15-year-old Sophomore is a football player at Rickards High School and is in his church youth choir. My daughter is a 6th grader at Florida State University School, she loves to dance with other kids!

Do you have any goals you would like to achieve in the short term, long term, or both?

In my former life, I was a social worker until I got sick. My short-term goal is to achieve stable housing and return to the job that I loved, it was so dear to me. I love helping people.

For what in life do you feel most grateful for?

I feel most grateful for life itself. Struggling with mental health issues, some days it’s hard to make it from one day to the next. I am thankful for the small things, such as, smelling roses and the feeling of the sun when it hits my skin. I am thankful for programs in the community, such as the FACT team, Unhoused Humanity and The Staying Ahead Program- without them, I probably wouldn’t be here today. I am thankful for my children, they give me the motivation that I need to keep going every day.

What is your greatest accomplishment in life?

My greatest accomplishment in life would be having my children. I could not see my life without them, seeing them accomplish their own individual goals and becoming their own individual people, makes me proud as a single mother and makes me feel as though I am accomplished as a mother.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *