Sheena’s Story

Raised

$361

 

People

4

 

Housed

February 21st 2020

 

Where did you grow up and what did you like about your home town?

I grew up in Orlando, FL and Bloomfield, CT and was raised by my grandmother. I didn’t have very many friends because my grandmother tried to shelter me a lot. My grandmother was very conservative and strict, so until I was in High School, there was not a lot of interaction outside of school or church.

Do you have any brothers or sisters?

I have two brothers that I wasn’t raised with and do not have a relationship with them. I was given to my Father’s mother when I was an infant and my brothers each had different fathers, so they upbringing was with different parents. I do not have sisters. Personally, I have three children. My oldest is a 10 year old girl. My middle child is my son who is 9 years old. My youngest is 14 months old and is a girl.

Do you have any goals you would like to achieve in the short term, long term, or both?

My short term goal is to become a more financially stable. I completed my AAS degree in Graphic Design through Full Sail University as of November 2019. I want to acquire a job in the field I have chosen as my career path. I also want to find a therapist that accepts the insurance provided by my two oldest children’s father to get them back on track for their emotional and mental health issues which has required medication in the past. They also were diagnosed with Dyslexia and have not been able to receive therapy to assist them to overcome it.

My long term goal is to achieve my Bachelor Degree in Fine Arts in Graphic Design and then to proceed to obtain my Master’s in Fine Arts Degree in Graphic and Visual Arts. Both degrees would allow me to obtain a better living wage with a firm or begin my own business.

For what in life do you feel most grateful for?

I am most grateful for my children. I consider them my greatest blessing and accredit them as having saved me from a life that could have been more destructive. They make me want to be someone better who accomplishes more. I feel they have made me what I am today because of how much I desire to provide better for them.

What is your greatest accomplishment in life?

One of my greatest accomplishments was that I obtained my AAS degree. I had previously been told it would be extremely difficult for me to obtain an education and was originally told I would not graduate high school. But I have gotten this far and know that I can go farther. I also accomplished overcoming a speech impediment. Because I spoke with a stutter, I was told I probably would never be able to speak clearly and would be inhibited in life by this speech challenge. However I overcame this and am a very good communicator without any type of stuttering issues. I also was told I would not be able to drive due to anxiety issues caused from my stroke that occurred in April 2016. But after I moved to Tallahassee, I forced myself past the anxiety and drove 4 1/2 hours straight. Since then, my anxiety has not been an issue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *