Alfred’s Story

Raised

$1000

 

People

1

 

Housed

March 13th 2020

 

Where did you grow up and what did you like about your home town?

I grew up in CoCo, FL.  I like that my hometown was small and everyone knew one another. 

Do you have any brothers or sisters?

I have two brothers and three sisters. All of us are very close; we grew up in a two parent home, with great balance. All three of my sisters reside in our hometown with their families. Both my brothers live out of state with their families.

Do you have any goals you would like to achieve in the short term, long term, or both?

My short term goal is to obtain stable housing, and my long term goal is to supplement my income through employment. I’ve been attempting to find employment but it is difficult in my current living situation. I am also a recovering addict; I’ve been sober 4 years. 1year before my incarceration I began my journey in sobriety. I spent 2 years incarcerated which assisted with my practice in sobriety. There after my release, 1 year ago I’ve still been sober, with no interaction with drugs.

My long term goal is to continue a sober lifestyle.

For what in life do you feel most grateful for?

I’m most grateful for having my father in life, he taught me work ethic. He required my siblings and I to work growing up.  We witnessed him work hard to provide for us every day.  This instilled in me the value of work. My father worked up until he was 90 years old. I aim to be like him every day. 

What is your greatest accomplishment in life?

My greatest accomplishment is fathering my children well. All three of my girls have graduated high school and college.  Most recently my eldest began graduate school for Health Administration. I’m so proud because she struggled academically in grade school due to a developmental disability. She overcame through support of myself and my ex-wife.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *